Sunday, 18 March 2018

Shed Floor Painting

Peter has continued his work in the running shed today by painting one half of the floor after he had deep-cleaned it earlier in the week

Once that half is dry, Peter can start painting the other half

Saturday, 17 March 2018

Annual General Meeting

The Association held its Annual General Meeting today to recount the 2017 season, including events, achievements, accounts & profits and what the association have to look forward to in the new season.

From left to right, Secretary Bob Stapley, Chairman Michael Darling and Treasurer Michael Wortley

Friday, 16 March 2018

08915 Paintwork

Norman has had his paintbrush out again this week, gradually touching up the scuffed areas of 08915s paintwork

Thursday, 15 March 2018

A.No.5 Update

A.No.5 is currently in the main workshop after a boiler washout, the locomotive has now been stripped and is ready for its annual boiler examination

A5s manifold in bits for a thorough inspection and clean

George cleaning the whistle valve

Stripped backhead

The locos gauge glasses after cleaning, ready for inspection

Wednesday, 14 March 2018

No.10 Inspection

Consett Iron Company No.10s camshaft and big end bearings were inspected today by George for any defects, the locomotive is planned to be on demonstration shunting duties on April 22nd, first Diesel Day of the year!

No.401 Update

A meeting was held this morning with volunteers and TWAM staff to discuss the rebuilding process of the locomotive

Michael and George inspecting 401s regulator rod for pitting

Michael wire brushing the rod

Tuesday, 13 March 2018

Monday, 12 March 2018

Driver Experience

Diesel Driver Experience days are now open for booking on select days, Saturday 21st April, Saturday 16th June and Saturday 22nd September

Find out more here

Saturday, 3 March 2018

Shed Tidy Up

With the weather still poor, Michael D, Michael W and John took the opportunity to give the running shed a general clean and brush up

Thursday, 1 March 2018

Throwback Thursday #31

With the recent weather created by the Beast from the East, here's a fitting snowy photo of Ashington No.5 sitting in the yard with a warming fire lit before February Half Term running in 2013